Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
DPME Banner


​​​​1.    INTRODUCTION:​

Public servants who go the extra mile in delivering exceptional quality services to South Africans will be recognised at the Annual Batho Pele Excellence Awards (NBPEA) on March 26, 2020.

The Awards cement the values of improving service delivery, professionalising the public service space to achieve the ideal public service as envisaged in the National Development Plan (NDP).

The NBPEA represent a concerted effort by the Ministry for the Public Service and Administration (MPSA) to intensify the creation of a strong and capable state.

The glittering event to be attended by senior government officials including both the Minister and Deputy Minister for Public Service and Administration will take place at Sandton Convention Centre, Gauteng.



  • The Batho Pele Principles and Awards.
  • The Batho Pele campaign, which was aimed at improving service delivery to the public, was rolled out in 1997.
  • The Batho Pele Principles were revitalised during the 2012 Public Service Month.
  • Through the campaign, eight guiding principles were derived and made public in the 1997 White Paper on Public Service Delivery.
  • The Batho Pele awards are dedicated to hard-working public servants.
  • The inaugural awards ceremony were held on November 14, 2013 in Gauteng.
  • In recognising public servants who are selfless, dedicated, committed and who go the extra mile in servicing citizens, the awards seek to instill a sense of achievement and belonging.
  • Hard working and dedicated public servants, those doing their bit behind the scenes to make the country a better place over the last twenty five years of democracy, will be given their time to shine in Gauteng once again.
  • The much-awaited NBPEA awards ceremony will be held on March 26, 2020.


Nominations are now open

  • All public servants and members of the public can nominate. employees who have gone beyond the call of duty in the public service space.
  • The National Batho Pele Excellence Awards, which cover the national and provincial spheres, reflect on the implementation of the Batho Pele principles, as well as on government priorities and initiatives.
  • National, provincial and local government officials are eligible to enter, as well as national and provincial public institutions with nominations open to colleagues and members of the public for any category.
  • The nominees should at least have been employed for a minimum period of two years in the public service.
  • In the case of a project being nominated, it should at least have been in operation for a year.
  • In the category on Life Time Achievement, active, retired or deceased public servants are eligible.
  • All nominations should be accompanied by motivations.
  • The pre-selection of entries will be completed within two weeks of the closing date.



  • The awards will be conferred to the Best Director General (National) of the Year, Best Head of Department of the Year (Provincial Government),
  • Best Provincial Director-General of the Year, Best Functioning Provincial Department of the Year.
  • Best Functioning National Department of the Year.
  • Best Performing Senior Management Service (SMS) member of the Year (level 13-15).
  • Best Front-Line Service Delivery Employee of the Year.
  • Best General Worker of the Year (Level 1-5).
  • Best Operational Employee of the Year (L6-12) – looking at leadership qualities and abilities.
  • Best Batho Pele Team of the Year and Best Implemented Programme or Project of the Year.
  • The first prize goes to the Outstanding Batho Pele Winner of the Year.
  • Under the Life-Time Achiever (public service area), the category is divided between the Dr Nelson Mandela Life Time Achiever and the Albertina Sisulu Life Time Achiever Awards with each carrying a cash prize.
  • The winners are further expected to serve as ambassadors for service excellence by encouraging, motivating and promoting good practices across the public sector.


Winners of the Batho Pele Awards

  • During their time as winners, and in subsequent years of their serving the public, the nominated individuals are expected to continue to demonstrate, maintain and sustain the level and standard of service performance, which won them the award.
  • Winners are also expected to share their best practices by providing advice and guidance to other public servants. 
  • The winners are further expected to serve as ambassadors for service excellence by encouraging, motivating and promoting good practices across the public sector


Cash Prizes

  • Each category will have three prizes: a bronze (third), a silver (second) and a gold (first) prize.
  • In addition to the cash prizes, in kind prizes such as ipads, bag or tickets/ voucher/s over the weekend may be granted (funds permitting).
  • Capitec sponsors the current cash prizes to the tune of R196 000, for the third prizes that carry a cash prize of R5000 each, second prizes that carry a cash prize of R10000 each, first prizes R15 000 each and two Life Time Achiever awards, each carrying a cash prize of R25 000.



Download forms here:

Copyright © DPME     Terms & Conditions | Disclaimer | Legal | Privacy Policy | Webmaster